I am meeting Shania Twain!!

On my drive to the office this morning I was excited to hear that Shania Twain was going to be performing in the studio of my favorite radio station CHFI 98.1 next Tuesday morning. They were going to be giving away  front row tickets to her performance and a meet and greet with Shania. All I had to do was go to chfi.com and enter  the loyalty club. As a regular listener I get points for correctly identifying songs played at specific times on the station. I had accumulated a number of points so I put in 12 entries for this draw.

I listen online with headphones at work and at 10:30 a.m. I heard my name being called. I was stunned what are the odds that after winning money with this station last money I would now also win tickets to this special show. I love that even if I wasn’t listening I would have found out from friends on Facebook who posted and immediately notified me to contact CHFI. I spoke to Michelle Butterly again. She is the same DJ who I won 600.00 with last month! I told her she is my lucky charm and thanked them profusely for this opportunity.

Shania Twain actually holds a special memory in my mind. When I was living in Burlington Ontario for a short period of time I had to commute 60 minutes to pick up my son in Richmond Hill for visits. Without fail my daughter and I would play Shania’s CD “UP” in the car and sing every song as loud as possible while we drove. The song UP has had special relevance to me due to my struggles in the last 8 years and the lyrics made this my anthem:

UP – Shania Twain 

I’m going up

It’s ’bout as bad as it could be
Seems everybody’s buggin’ me
Like nothing wants to go my way yeah
It just ain’t been my day
Nothin’s coming easily

Even my skin is actin’ wierd
I wish that I could grow a beard
Then I could cover up my spots
Not play connect the dots
I just wanna disappear

Up, up, up
Can only go up from here
Up, up, up
Up where the clouds gonna clear
Up, up, up
There?s no way but up from here

Even something as simple as
Forgettin’ to fill up on gas
There ain’t no explanation why
Things like that can make you cry
Just gotta learn to have a laugh

Up, up, up
Can only go up from here
Up, up, up
Up where the clouds gonna clear
Up, up, up
There’s no way but up from here

Oh, yeah, yeah, yeah
Yeah, yeah, yeah
Yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah

When everything is goin’ wrong
Don’t worry it won’t last for long
Yeah it’s all gonna come around
Don’t let it get you down
You gotta keep holdin’ on

It’s ’bout as bad as it could be
Seems everybody’s buggin’ me
Like nothin’ wants to go my way
It just ain’t been my day
Nothin’s comin’ easily

Up, up, up
Can only go up from here
Up, up, up
Up where the clouds gonna clear
Up, up, up
Theres no way but up from here

Up, up, up, up oh
I’m going up I’m going up I’m going up
I’m going up I’m going up I’m going up
I’m going up I’m going up oh
Yeah, yeah, yeah

I can honestly say that I have now arrived at UP UP UP!! This is my year and things like winning this contest keep making it clear that my time has finally come. Never give up, never stay down, that has been the story of my life and now I get the rewards.

This particular event falls 2 days after Mothers day and 3 days before my birthday! I could not ask for a more special moment to share with my daughter to celebrate both days!

I am all emotional now thanks CHFI!!

Michelle

2 thoughts on “I am meeting Shania Twain!!

  1. You met Shania Twain? That don’t impress me much 😉

    I’m just kidding. I dare say you have a luck charm alright. This winning streak seems far from over with 7 months to go. I want some of that to rub off on me pleeeeeeeeeez

Leave a Reply

