Why I am so proud of Megan

If you haven’t known me for more than 2 years you are not aware of the incredible challenges that my 14 year old daughter has been through.

She got sick in 2008 with pneumonia, that was followed up with mono, this essentially destroyed grade 6 for her

She got sick in 2009 with extreme menstrual bleeding and fatty liver disease essentially making grade 7 a right off.

She got sick in 2010 with extreme vertigo and spent 10 months in a wheelchair. She almost attended no days of school in grade 8.

Doctors, and family members did not hide that they thought this was all in her head and that she was just trying to avoid school .

Her self esteem was as low as it could be with people calling her a liar and thinking she wanted to be sick

She was put through to grade 9 without completing any real schooling in grade 8. Megan was certain they had given up on her too.

Megan got healthy in June 2010. A ton of work with my holistic coach Brandon Krieger , osteopath Jason B, and Megan hated the extreme healthy foods that she was forced to eat.

But in the end , nothing any doctor has done for her in 2 years made any difference. Osteopath and holistic eating did the trick.

She entered grade 9 and we ensured her first semester was light. She took applied french, academic math, drama and art. No one had any expectations and honestly I worried she would get sick again in September.

She insisted on getting help from my Aunt Pat all through the summer,she wanted to be prepared for grade 9 math and megan worked extremely hard. It helped that my aunt believed in her and slowly but surely Megan’s confidence was rebuilding.

Megan worked hard on homework, she asked to see my aunt whenever she felt insecure about a math concept. My aunt constantly told her she was doing well and that all Megan needed to do was to take the time to read the question properly before she started working on it. Mistakes she was making were small ones all related back to not reading the question correctly.

We had a scare in November when Megan had a fatty liver scare again. A cold over christmas too…Each little thing triggers a deep fear in me now. I need her to continue to be healthy.

In November Megan’s mid term report card came home and it was brilliant. She was flourishing in all classes. Drama 74% Art 96% French 93% and math 75%. She was so happy and I was so proud of her. Tears in my eyes with the clear effort by megan and the incredible efforts of my aunt pat in helping her get there.

Friday Megan brought home her final report card for Semester 1.

Her final grade are

Drama- 77%

Art 92%

French 87%

Math 74%

What an incredible accomplishment Megan. You are an incredibly smart girl with a great support system in my aunt pat and your brother and me! You will continue to shine you will continue to flourish and I am incredibly proud of my baby girl! You proved everyone wrong and you rock!

4 thoughts on “Why I am so proud of Megan

Leave a Reply

