A glimmer of hope on a day to remember

Saturday June 5, 2010 goes down as a huge milestone date in my daughter’s life. She woke up at 8 am and realized she didn’t feel dizzy, she pinched herself, laid herself back down, tried a few steps and then came into my room…mom I  can walk! I am fast asleep and certain that was a dream so i rolled over and cuddled my pillow…she said MOMMM I can walk , I am NOT dizzy!!

After 9 MONTHS of constant dizziness that has had her wheelchair bound , there was no way we were prepared for this. Doctors did nothing to help her, she lost a year of school , she lost any social contact with friends.

We had a huge hug and i got up, she was giddy and excited I was in shock! She wanted to go out right away..so we got dressed and headed over to Golden Griddle for a buffet breakfast so that she could practice walking for her meal.

We both were confused looking at the last 9 months and trying to figure out what change could have made the extreme dizziness go away? Was it the Osteopath treatment on Wednesday, the change in foods, the focus on exercise, coming off the birth control pill 3 months ago? Nothing jumps out as a specific reason for this miracle. Lots of my friends have been praying for Megan, possibly this is as simple as God giving us a glimmer of hope.

We drove to https://gethealthywithmichelle.wordpress.com/wp-admin/post-new.phpmy stepdad’s apartment to surprise him, we NEVER just show up,  and he is not a morning person, so when we rang his buzzer at 10am his reply was “WHATS WRONG, ARE YOU OK?” Told him he needed to let us up. Megan and i giggled on the elevator ride, knowing he was very confused.  We knocked on his door and megan hid around the corner….he opened the door and looked so concerned, i told him we have a surprise and he noticed Megan standing still…WOW , then she walked in and we told him about her miracle.

Megan called her dad to surprise him, we went shopping at the mall , not having to push megan in the wheelchair was a great break for me lol…Megan loved being able to walk…it was hurting her leg muscles and we realized we needed to take it easy on the walking today.

We went to Tuckers Marketplace for dinner with her brother , and my stepdad as a celebration for Alex’s birthday last week and a celebration of Megan’s ability to walk again. Another buffet for Megan to walk back and forth for and just a wonderful evening…

By the time we got home Megan’s legs were exhausted and she was very tired. She still did her exercises and refused to give up even though she was in pain.

I had been fighting a cold myself and had an invitation to go out dancing…I was so tempted to just stay home and settle in after the busy day celebrating Megan’s walking!

Megan looked at me and said Mom just take some cold medicine and go out to enjoy yourself.  So I drugged myself up and got dolled up for a night of dancing. My sweet friend Louis picked me up and we met up with some other great ladies and danced the night away…

Truly a perfect day with a perfect ending…  Sadly this morning Megan woke up dizzy again but there is nothing that can take that day away and I KNOW its hope and she will have more days like this one coming up!!

3 thoughts on “A glimmer of hope on a day to remember

  1. Wow I just love reading your posts they make me cry because I can see how much you love your daughter.

    It makes me wish I could help you out in some way. I have just started a health supplements blog site on wordpress.

    http://tamarkc.wordpress.com/

    I hope that soon you will be writing a post that tells us Megan is fine and doing well. Let’s keep our fingers crossed.

    Tammy Cowell

  2. Michelle, I too find your love and devotion and positive attitude inspiring! It was nice to meet you. Sorry I didn’t get to chat with you very long…..we had a little too much fun at my place before we even got there!! LOL!

    I will certainly pray for Megan and hope that you are granted an even greater miracle!! I actually work for a surgeon as an office manager and have for the past 16 years. I plan on asking him if he has ever heard of something like Megan’s case.

    I will you and your family continued hope, strength and courage with a huge dose of positivity!!

  3. That’s such fantastic news!!! I’m so happy for you and your whole family. How nice it was for her to be able to walk again.

Leave a Reply

