Week 3 Lifestyle changes take time!

The weight is coming off so nicely. After 3 weeks of healthy eating I am proud to report I have lost 13lbs. My daughter struggles with understanding why I am not having cravings for all the junk and processed foods we no longer eat. That is an easy answer for me I am eating lots of food that is keeping me full and doesn’t make me feel like I am missing anything! Thats the secret really, eat until you are full of the veggies, the fruits, the proteins, complex carbs and your body will thank you by not being hungry for a few hours. No sugar spike to crash from making you long for more processed foods! I know so many ladies that try to trick their bodies during weight loss efforts by not eating much food, but by limiting their portions, they are actually causing their bodies to go into starvation mode. Your body will hold onto that fat worried that you will not be feeding it again soon! You will also have more cravings and more struggles with sticking to any plan this way!
Good supplements work better with food in your stomach, if you have an empty stomach you will get sicker from the toxins that are being released in your body as you are not giving the vitamins anything to absorb into for your stomach and I can easily predict headaches, stomach aches, and dizziness when the supplements are digested on an empty stomach!
Please help yourself by feeding yourself lots of healthy foods! Trust me its working for me!!
Having a food plan last week helped a lot, however I am still finding its taking a lot of extra effort to learn all the new recipes and cook differently than I have in the past, I used new cookbooks this week “The Complete Idiot’s Guide to Glycemic index cookbook” and “The New Glucose Revolution Low GI Family cookbook”. Overall, my grocery bills are higher right now as I stock my cupboards with the basics for low gylcemic cooking, I do expect that to drop over the next month. This weekend I will focus on making some snacks that can be stored for use over the week beyond fruits, veggies, dips and nuts! I will be posting recipes and meal plans here  https://gethealthywithmichelle.wordpress.com/
You can subscribe to my updates there and get more information as I add links to the details you might want!

Check in next week for my journey into buying transition clothes…..

Your low glycemic friend Michelle

3 thoughts on “Week 3 Lifestyle changes take time!

  1. Hi Michelle,
    It sounds like you are on the right road and I am thrilled for you. Your words are inspiring as they remind me that I shouldn’t “give in” to the voice in my head that wants to “hobby eat”. I am enjoying following you and look forward to reading about your ups & downs and learnings!
    Best,
    Michelle

  2. “I am eating lots of food that is keeping me full and doesn’t make me feel like I am missing anything! Thats the secret really, eat until you are full of the veggies, the fruits, the proteins, complex carbs and your body will thank you by not being hungry for a few hours.”

    ^^ I totally agree. If only people could grasp this concept then weight loss wouldn’t be such a chore.

    Dont you just love those book titles that start off, ‘The Complete Idiot’s guide…’ lol.

    I enjoyed the post and there’s a lot of useful tips. I’ll just say in terms of the post layout you may want to space out your paragraphs so it’s easier on the eye.

    Keep it up. Subscribing…

Leave a Reply

